Underage DUI Attorneys in The Woodlands Helping Minors Recover from Impaired Driving Charges
People in Texas live by the “go big or go home” mantra, so it’s no surprise that this way of life carries over to alcohol consumption. Drunk driving is one of the state’s leading causes of car accidents. Young people are most at-risk for drunk driving, particularly minors and young adults ages 20-24.
The state embraces a zero-tolerance policy regarding minors and drunk driving. The .08 percent legal limit adults must adhere to does not apply to minors.
Minors convicted of a DUI can face license suspension, community service, fines, and a record. Don’t let one juvenile mistake hinder your future—contact our attorneys with Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law, for the leading DUI representation in Texas.
What are the Penalties for a First Offense DUI?
A minor in Texas is considered a child under the age of 21. A first-offense DUI in Texas is regarded as a class C misdemeanor if a minor is convicted of a DUI. Any amount of alcohol is enough to charge a minor with a first-offense DUI, such as 0.02 percent blood alcohol content (BAC).
Penalties for a minor under age 17 include a fine of up to $500, 20 to 40 hours of community service, and license suspension for 60 to 180 days. In addition, a minor and their parents might have to participate in an alcohol awareness program.
A DUI by a minor, ages 17 to 20, includes fines of up to $2,000, confinement in jail from 72 hours to 180 days, and a one-year license suspension. The penalty might also have an ignition interlock device (IID).
What are the Penalties for Repeat DUI Offenses?
Texas doesn’t take kindly to repeat DUI offenses, especially involving minors.
A second DUI offense for minors 17 and under includes fines of up to $500, 60 hours of community service, license suspension for 120 days to two years, and attendance in an alcohol awareness program.
A second DUI offense for minors 17 to 20 is considered a class A misdemeanor. Penalties include up to $4,000 in fines, 30 days to one year in jail, and a suspended license for 180 days to 18 months. A third DUI offense is considered a felony and includes prison time from two to 10 years, fines of up to $10,000, and a license suspension for 180 days to two years.
Repeat offenses can result in crippling long-term consequences that will hinder education and career opportunities, buying a home, obtaining a loan, and much more. Contact Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law, to help.
Can a DUI Charge Be Reduced?
A DUI charge can be reduced with the assistance of our underage DUI lawyers. It’s common for first-time DUI offenders without a record or prior convictions to get charges reduced. It’s not easy or automatic, but reduced charges are possible. Our attorneys will use the information against you—or lack thereof—at our disposal.
For instance, it’s not uncommon for breathalyzer tests to be inaccurate or to find that law enforcement didn’t follow protocol. Sometimes the prosecutor omits information that could change the course of the case.
There are many different ways we will attempt to get your charges reduced. The first step is hiring our attorneys to represent you in court.
Can an Attorney Get My DUI Charges Dismissed?
DUI charges get dismissed in Texas courtrooms all of the time. They don’t get dismissed without aggressive legal representation. Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law, and our experienced underage DUI lawyers challenge the prosecution’s case against you so that you have a fighting chance against a conviction.
We build a case in your defense using different strategies to push for reduced charges or a dismissed case altogether. If you don’t hire an attorney to defend you in an underage DUI case, you will lose the opportunity to fight for yourself and better circumstances.
From first-time DUI offenses to repeat DUI charges, get uncompromising representation in the face of a Texas DUI with Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law. Our attorneys will work hard for better results. Schedule your consultation with us today: 713-766-3733.