DWI Lawyers in The Woodlands Minimizing the Penalties or Helping You Avoid DWI Conviction
Drinking and driving is a criminal offense, yet people choose to drink and drive every day. In 2021, there were 25,261 drunk-driving-related traffic crashes on the road. Some DWIs result in vehicle damage, property damage, or in more serious cases, severe accidents and fatalities. It’s one of the leading causes of traffic accidents and a constant danger to the public.
There are first-time and repeat offenders with a DWI charge on their record looking for a resolution to lingering negative consequences.
When faced with DWI charges and profound implications, Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law will help you minimize the penalties and avoid a DWI conviction. When you want a blank slate and a more favorable outcome, turn to our DWI lawyers.
What are DWI Charges in Texas?
A driver is legally intoxicated when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level reaches .08 percent. A DWI is a more serious offense in Texas and is charged under the Texas Penal Code, whereas a DUI is only charged to minors under the Texas Traffic Code.
A first offense of DWI results in a $2,000 fine, up to 180 days in jail (and three mandatory days), and loss of your driver’s license for up to a year. A second offense DWI results in a $4,000 fine, one month to a year in jail, and loss of your driver’s license, and a third offense results in a $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison, and a loss of your driver’s license for up two years.
When a DWI includes aggravating factors such as accidents, injuries, a high blood alcohol concentration BAC level, or a child passenger, additional fines and jail time increase.
How Much Does a DWI Lawyer Cost?
Some attorneys charge by the hour, while others use a flat rate depending on the case. Based on multiple sources, a flat fee DWI attorney might charge $1,000 to $5,000 to manage a case through to resolution, while another attorney might bill $100 to $500 per hour.
Trials are the most time-consuming and, as such, expensive. Lawyers indeed avoid going to trial if a trial is not necessary, which is a benefit for clients, too. A DWI lawyer might charge an additional $5,000 to $10,000 for a DWI charge if it goes to trial.
Many different things come up in DUI cases that force the need for a trial, including physical control issues and the ability to prove the defendant was driving the car, blood testing issues, or if the defendant is not satisfied with the plea offer.
How Do You Win a DWI Case?
“Winning” your case starts at the time of your arrest, believe it or not. Remain silent when speaking to law enforcement, and don’t overshare any details without an attorney present. Stay calm and say as little as possible, as the less the prosecution has against you, the better for your case.
When it comes time to challenge your DWI charge, we can use various defense strategies available to us through evidence (or lack thereof), mistakes, errors, omission of information, lab tests, law enforcement protocol, and much more.
The last thing you want to do is take a chance to accept a lousy plea deal when an attorney can spot opportunities to turn your case around.
Can I Represent Myself in a DWI Charge?
Everyone has the right to represent themselves in court, no matter the charge, and DWIs are no exception. There is a steep learning curve regarding legal representation—especially if a case goes to trial.
Without the legal experience or training to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the case or the tools to negotiate and build a case, it’s never in your best interest. It will put you at a disadvantage compared to the bench strength against you.
Call DWI Lawyers in The Woodlands Today!
The bottom line is that you don’t want to take a “wait and see” approach. Our attorneys will do all of the heavy lifting, from the investigation to negotiations and much more, to get the results you’re after and leave you in a better place than where you started. Consult our attorneys to discuss your DWI charges today: 713-766-3733.