Assault Attorneys in The Woodlands Building a Case to Help You Avoid Stiff Penalties
There are many forms of assault. Assault is considered a violent crime. A person can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony depending on the court’s ruling, resulting in a range of penalties, from fines to years in prison if convicted.
There are four types of assault in Texas, including:
- Assault bodily injury (ABI)
- Assault bodily injury against a family member (ABI-FM)
- Assault by threat
- Assault by contact
Assault offenses impact many areas of a person’s life, such as securing a loan, employment, travel, or renting or buying a home. Manage the outcome of an assault case by hiring an experienced criminal defense lawyer such as Morgan Bourque, Attorney at Law.
What is Simple Assault?
Simple assault is one of the two types of assault in Texas. A person that knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causes or threatens to inflict harm on another person or consciously participates in offensive or provocative contact is engaging in a simple assault.
Verbal threats typically result in a class C misdemeanor and a $500 fine, whereas assaulting an athlete or sports official is a class B misdemeanor with consequences such as jail time for up to 180 days or a $2,000 fine.
Any assault that causes bodily injury is considered a class A misdemeanor offense, punishable by one year in jail and a fine up to $4,000. To make things more complicated, simple assault also can be charged as a third-degree felony with penalties such as 10 ten years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000 if the victim is pregnant, a public servant, a government employee, or a contractor at a rehabilitation facility, to name a few examples.
What is Aggravated Assault?
To be considered aggravated assault, two factors must be involved:
- Serious bodily injury from an altercation, such as fractured bones, disfigurement, scarring, or permanent disability
- Use of a deadly weapon or any object used to inflict bodily injury or death. Examples include firearms, knives, rope, metal pipes, baseball bats, rocks, and bricks.
Aggravated assault using a deadly weapon or any activity that causes serious injury to another person is a second-degree felony, resulting in jail time anywhere from two to 20 years. If aggravated assault involves domestic violence and a deadly weapon, a person can be charged with a first-degree felony with a maximum sentence of life in prison.
Whether simple or aggravated assault, our attorneys can help reach a favorable solution.
What Should I Avoid After an Assault Charge?
The time between an assault-related arrest and a trial is a delicate period. Assault often happens between two people in a relationship. Sometimes the convicted offender tries to make contact with the victim to apologize or talk things through.
After a charge is in motion, it’s not wise to pursue the victim by text, phone, email, or in person. We urge our clients to do the following after an assault charge:
- Avoid contact with the victim, even if they try reaching out first. Do not respond.
- Contact our experienced criminal defense team so we can protect your rights
- Document the incident and any details, including photographs
- Make a list of possible witnesses
- Follow the advice of your criminal defense attorney
Contact our office to discuss best practices after an assault charge.
When Should I Contact an Attorney?
If you have been charged with an assault crime, hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney can lessen the long-term consequences of a criminal assault charge. Simple and aggravated assault cases are unpredictable, making it even more important to have the guidance of legal counsel at your fingertips.
The facts and details of your case are important in reaching a verdict. Criminal history, the prosecutor and judge, and the attorney you choose will determine the success of your case.
We will conduct an investigation, consult experts, and interview witnesses to build a case that results in a favorable outcome, such as dismissed or reduced charges. Contact Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law, for your consultation to move your case forward: 713-766-3733.