The Woodlands Theft Lawyers
Texas Theft Laws
When faced with a theft charge or arrest, the future suddenly becomes uncertain. Remain calm and hire a criminal lawyer who has successfully defended against theft claims. With more than five decades of collective experience, The Woodlands theft attorneys at Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law have helped countless clients dealing with a wide array of theft charges avoid serious criminal penalties.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Morgan Borque tried hundreds of theft charges. Now as a leading Texas theft lawyer, he continually adds to his record of case dismissals and reduced charges. No matter how dire the odds may seem, we understand what it takes to obtain the best possible outcome.
Call (713) 535-9711 for more information about our legal services. We serve clients in The Woodlands, Montgomery County, Spring, Magnolia, and Willis.
Many forms of theft are described as offenses against property under Texas Penal Code §31.03. While the act of directly stealing another person’s item or property is certainly covered, there are many degrees of theft explained in the code that are not as obvious.
What are the Penalties for Theft in Texas?
The following are penalties for theft based on the monetary value of the stolen property:
- Less than $50 - Theft within this amount is a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a maximum fine of $500.
- Between $50 and less than $500 (or theft of a driver’s license or ID card) - Theft within this amount is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail term of 180 days and a fine of up to $2,000.
- Between $500 and less than $1,500 - Theft within this amount is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a jail term of up to one year and a maximum fine of up to $4,000.
- Between $1,500 and less than $20,000 - Theft within this amount is a state jail felony, punishable by a maximum state jail term of two years and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
- Between $20,000 and less than $100,000 - Theft within this amount is a third-degree felony, which carries a maximum 10-year prison sentence and a fine of no more than $10,000.
- Between $100,000 and less than $200,000 - Theft within this amount is a second-degree felony, punishable by a up to 20 years of prison time and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- $200,000 or higher - Theft within this amount is a first-degree felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of 99 years and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
Additionally, you could be held liable in civil court and subject to paying monetary damage. If a child commits theft, then the minor’s parents or legal guardians may face a civil lawsuit.
Representation for Theft Cases in TX
In 2016, more than 85,000 larceny and theft arrests were made in Texas — nearly 6,000 of which involved motor vehicle theft. In connection with theft charges, alleged offenders often face other charges, such as vandalism, burglary and forgery.
Due to the frequency of arrests and the seriousness of the penalties after conviction, it is in your best interest to let our firm fight for you. Do not hesitate to let us review your case, figure out your legal options, and find a way to get a not-guilty verdict, get your case dismissed, or reduce the charges you face.
Contact us today to discuss your case with The Woodlands theft lawyer.
“Best defense attorney in Texas!”- Jeremy