The Woodlands Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
Accused of Domestic Violence in Montgomery County?
In 2016, more than 4,100 arrests were made related to domestic violence and offenses against family and children in Texas. Many of these incidents began with a miscommunication or minor argument that could have caused confusion and quickly escalated. Police are doing all they can to prevent domestic violence crimes, and if arrested, may look to make an example of you.
When charged with domestic violence crimes, it is important to know that, according to the Texas Penal Code:
Domestic violence assaults are commonly referred to as AFV (Assault Family Violence charges) and are linked to family and civil matters.
Injuring or intending to injure someone not related to you – like a cohabitant or significant other – can constitute domestic violence charges.
You may face greater penalties if a public servant or elderly individual is assaulted.
Penalties can include lengthy prison sentences, restraining orders, thousands of dollars in fines and mandatory counseling.
Domestic violence charges can be quite alarming. But before you panic or offer any statements that can be used against you – even to the police – the best way to mitigate the risk of penalties and incarceration is to hire a qualified criminal defense attorney lawyer experienced in domestic violence matters. Hire our The Woodlands domestic violence defense lawyer at Morgan Bourque Attorney at Law.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Morgan Bourque tried hundreds of domestic violence charges. Now as a leading Texas domestic violence lawyer, he continually adds to his record of successful defenses. Our legal team has demonstrated where inaccurate claims, misunderstandings, and unreliable eyewitness accounts can influence charges. No matter how dire the odds may seem, we often achieve favorable outcomes while representing each client with the same passion and zeal. We will work to challenge the claims at trial and have the charges dismissed or the penalties reduced at every stage in your case.
Domestic Violence Laws & Penalties in Texas
Domestic violence charges can be complex because they are typically tied to assault and family law. In many instances, domestic violence is characterized by a simple assault combined with domestic violence and protection orders as part of Texas Penal Code § 22.01(e).
Domestic assault occurs when a person purposefully or recklessly causes bodily injury to a family or household member, or threatens imminent such harm. Family and household members consist of current and former spouses, individuals in a romantic relationship, or relatives by blood or through marriage.
For a first offense, domestic assault is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum fine of $4,000. For a second or subsequent offense, the crime is considered a third-degree felony, punishable by a maximum prison term of 10 years and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
If you commit two domestic assaults in one year, you could also be charged with “continuous violence against the family.” The domestic violence offense is also a third-degree felony.
Furthermore, domestic violence charges can result in being subject to a restraining order and have a negative impact on child custody and your gun rights. Hiring an experienced attorney immediately can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case.
Ready to Provide Effective & Personalized Legal Defense Today
When facing serious criminal charges, we will fight for your rights and present the options that will best ensure your future. No matter your situation, Morgan Bourque is the domestic violence lawyer who will provide aggressive and effective legal counsel inside and outside the courtroom. We understand good people can make mistakes, so let us help you get your life back on the right path.
For information about our legal services, call (713) 535-9711 right away.